Best of NQ 1999 Contents
  The Alec Baldwin Award
  Soft on Crime Award
  China Syndrome Award
  I Am Woman Award
  Media Hero Award
  Damn Those Conservatives Award
  Good Morning Morons Award
  Littleton Shop of Horrors Award
  Shooting the Constitution Award
  Politics of Meaninglessness Award
  See No Evil Award
  Politics of Personal Destruction Award
  Doris Kearns Goodwin Award
  Too Late for the Ballot
  Quote of the Year
  1999 Award Judges
  Press Coverage

Publications & Analysis
  30-Day Archive
  Media Reality Check
  Notable Quotables
Media Bias Videos
Bozell Columns
MRC Divisions
  Free Market Project
MRC Information
  About the MRC
  MRC in the News
  Support the MRC
  What Others Say
  Site Search
  Media Addresses
Contact the MRC
  MRC Bookstore
Planned Giving


Free RealPlayer plug-in required to watch video clips.

Get Acrobat

Free Adobe Acrobat Reader software required to view PDF files.



The Best Notable Quotables of 1999:

The Twelfth Annual Awards for the
Year’s Worst Reporting


1999 Award Judges

Brent Baker, Editor of MediaWatch and Notable Quotables
Mark Belling, talk show host, WISN in Milwaukee
L. Brent Bozell III, Chairman of the Media Research Center
David Brudnoy, talk show host on WBZ Radio; TV commentator; and Boston University communications professor
Priscilla Buckley, Contributing Editor of National Review
Tucker Carlson, staff writer, The Weekly Standard
Mark Davis, talk host, WBAP in Dallas/Ft. Worth and ABC Radio Network; columnist, Ft. Worth Star-Telegram
Midge Decter, author, New York City
Jim Eason, talk show host, KSFO in San Francisco
Don Feder, syndicated columnist and Boston Herald columnist
Eric Fettman, op-ed columnist, New York Post
David Gold, national talk show host, Salem Radio Network
Tim Graham, Director of Media Analysis, Media Research Center
Kirk Healy, Executive Producer, Cox Radio, Orlando
Quin Hillyer, editorial writer, Mobile Register
Marie Kaigler, radiotalk show host and broadcaster, Detroit
Cliff Kincaid, host, Peoples Radio Network
Mark Larson, General Manager and talk show host at KPRZ/KCBQ in San Diego
Jason Lewis, talk show host, KSTP in Minneapolis/St. Paul
Tony Macrini, talk show host, WNIS/WTAR in Norfolk, Virginia
Don Markwell, talk show host, WACV in Montgomery
Tom Marr, talk show host, WCBM in Baltimore
Patrick McGuigan, Editor, editorial page, The Oklahoman
Jan Mickelson, talk show host, WHO in Des Moines
Gary Nolan, national radio talk show host, Radio America
Jane Norris, radio talk show host, WHAS in Louisville
Rich Noyes, Director of the MRC's Free Market Project
Kate O'Beirne, Washington Editor for National Review
Marvin Olasky, Senior Fellow, Acton Institute for the Study of Religion and Liberty; Editor of World magazine
Janet Parshall, nationally syndicated radio talk show host
Dan Pierce, Program Director and talk host, WGIR in Manchester, NH
Wladyslaw Pleszczynski, Executive Editor, The American Spectator
Michael Reagan, nationally syndicated radio talk show host
Mike Rosen, talk show host, KOA in Denver; columnist, Denver Rocky Mountain News
William Rusher, Distinguished Fellow, Claremont Institute
Ted J. Smith III, Professor of mass communications, Virginia Commonwealth University
Philip Terzian, nationally syndicated columnist
Cal Thomas, nationally syndicated columnist
R. Emmett Tyrrell Jr., Editor-in-Chief of The American Spectator
Armstrong Williams, nationally syndicated columnist
Dick Williams, columnist; host of Fox Atlanta s The Georgia Gang
Walter Williams, Professor of economics, George Mason University
Thomas Winter, Editor-in-Chief of Human Events
Barry Young, President & CEO WestStar TalkRadio Network, Phoenix




View the 8-page printed version of this newsletter in
Adobe Acrobat PDF

[Free RealPlayer plug-in required to watch video clips]

[Free Adobe Acrobat Reader software required to view PDF version.]



Home | News Division | Bozell Columns | CyberAlerts 
Media Reality Check | Notable Quotables | Contact the MRC | Subscribe

Founded in 1987, the MRC is a 501(c) (3) non-profit research and education foundation
 that does not support or oppose any political party or candidate for office.

Privacy Statement

Media Research Center
325 S. Patrick Street
Alexandria, VA 22314