Media Reality Check
  Notable Quotables
  Press Releases
  Media Bias Videos
  30-Day Archive
  The Watchdog
  About the MRC
  MRC in the News
  Support the MRC
  Planned Giving
  What Others Say
  Take Action
  Gala and DisHonors
  Best of NQ Archive
MRC Resources
  Site Search
  Media Addresses
  Contact MRC
  Comic Commentary
  MRC Bookstore
  Job Openings
  News Division
  NewsBusters Blog
  Business & Media Institute
  Culture and Media Institute

Support the MRC


On Thursday night, January 17, 2002, before an audience of more than 800 at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center in Washington, D.C., the Media Research Center presented the "Dishonors Awards: Roasting the Most Outrageously Biased Liberal Reporters of 2001." Winners were picked by a distinguished panel of 14 leading media observers who served as judges — including Rush Limbaugh, Sean Hannity, Robert Novak, Michael Reagan and Ben Stein — all of whom selected first and second place choices from five quotes in six award categories.

     Cal Thomas served as Master of Ceremonies. Serving as presenters of video clips of the three highest vote-earning quotes in each category: John Fund, Kate O’Beirne and David Limbaugh.

| |
At the Dishonor Awards, the MRC presented a video tribute to network coverage on September 11th


     In place of the journalist who won each award, a conservative accepted it in jest. Those standing in for the winners: Steve Forbes, Lucianne Goldberg, Robert Dornan, William F. Buckley Jr. and Katherine Harris.

     Below are the top runners-up in each award category as picked by the judges, followed by the winner and the name of the conservative who accepted the award in jest.

     Press Coverage: Columns, editorials and news stories about the Dishonors Awards. Check out pieces run in the Washington Times, Cleveland Plain Dealer, Pittsburgh Tribune Review and elsewhere.

Videos of Award Nominees and Winners

We’re All Going to Die and It’s Bush’s Fault Award 
(for Doomsday Environmental Reporting)
See nominees and winner | See video of Steve Forbes accepting award

Bring Back Bubba Award
(for the Best Journalistic Lewinsky)

See nominees and winner | See video of Lucianne Goldberg accepting award

Gilligan Award 
(for the Flakiest Comment of the Year)
             See Nominees and Winner | Interview between Kate O’Beirne and Dan Rather

Peter Arnett Award
(for Hopelessly Foolish Wartime Reporting) 
See nominees and winner | See video of Bob Dornan accepting award

Damn Every Conservative We Can Think of to Hell Award
See nominees and winner 


The Sore Losers Award 
(for Refusing to Concede Bush’s Victory in Florida)
See nominees and winner | See video of Katherine Harris accepting award





Home | News Division | Bozell Columns | CyberAlerts 
Media Reality Check | Notable Quotables | Contact the MRC | Subscribe

Founded in 1987, the MRC is a 501(c) (3) non-profit research and education foundation
 that does not support or oppose any political party or candidate for office.

Privacy Statement

Media Research Center
325 S. Patrick Street
Alexandria, VA 22314