Search the MRC
  30-Day Archive
  Media Reality Check
  Notable Quotables
  Press Releases
  Special Reports
  Take Action
  Media Bias Basics
  Profiles in Bias
  Gala and DisHonors
  Best of NQ Archive
  News Division
  NewsBusters Blog
  Business & Media Institute
  Culture and Media Institute
  About the MRC
  MRC in the News
  Support the MRC
  Planned Giving
  The Watchdog
  What Others Say
  Site Search
  Media Addresses
  Contact MRC
  MRC Bookstore
  Job Openings

Thursday, March 29, 2007

Grand Hyatt Washington

Cal Thomas, Neal Boortz, Herman Cain, Mary Matalin, Michael Steele, G. Gordon Liddy, Pat Sajak, Ward Connerly and "Osama bin Laden" highlighted the presentations and acceptances of the MRC’s "2007 DisHonors Awards: Roasting the Most Outrageously Biased Liberal Reporters of 2006" -- the showcase of the MRC's 20th Anniversary Gala -- presented on Thursday night, March 29, before an audience of more than 1,000 packed into the Independence Ballroom of the Grand Hyatt hotel in Washington, D.C.

Following the presentation of the DisHonors Awards videos in five categories (see links to videos below), a look at some "funny clips" from 2006, a highlight reel of past galas and the audience picking the "Quote of the Year," the evening was topped off with Rush Limbaugh accepting the MRC's first annual "William F. Buckley Award for Media Excellence."

DisHonors Awards winners were selected by a distinguished panel of 13 leading media observers, including Limbaugh, Tony Blankley, Ann Coulter, Steve Forbes, Mark Levin, Robert Novak, Walter E. Williams and Thomas S. Winter, who served as judges.

Cal Thomas, a syndicated columnist and panelist on FNC's Fox News Watch, served as Master of Ceremonies and explained how illness prevented scheduled presenters Sean Hannity and Ann Coulter from attending. Syndicated radio talk show host Neal Boortz presented the first two awards, followed by business leader Herman Cain who set up the funny clips and presented the third award. Mary Matalin, a former adviser to President Bush and Vice President Cheney, handled the fourth and fifth awards.

In place of the journalist who won each award, a conservative accepted it in jest. Those standing in for the winners: Former Maryland Lieutenant Governor Michael Steele, radio talk show host G. Gordon Liddy, game show host Pat Sajak and Ward Connerly, President of the American Civil Rights Institute. Plus, "Osama bin Laden" accepted an award via video from a cave in Pakistan.

The evening began with welcoming remarks from Cal Thomas, an invocation by Father John Hopkins and the Pledge of Allegiance led by Rear Admiral James J. Carey (Retired). Between the fifth award and the "Quote of the Year" competition, Cain and Dick Eckburg, the Chairman of the MRC Board Trustees, honored MRC President L. Brent Bozell with a Steven Penley painting of Bozell and conservative opinion leaders integral in the MRC's 20-year history.


Rush Limbaugh accepts the MRC's "William F. Buckley Jr. Award for Media
Transcripts and Limbaugh's radio re-cap



Brent Bozell is joined on stage by G. Gordon Liddy, Ward Connerly, Hermain Cain, Neal Boortz, Mary Matalin, Pat Sajak, and Cal Thomas for the selection of the “Quote of the Year” by audience participation.

Videos of Award Nominees and Winners:

To download media files, right click on the icon (MP3 audio, RealPlayer or Windows Media), select "save target as" or "save link as," and choose the destination of where you would like to save the file on your computer.

  God, I Hate America Award
See nominees and winner | Accepted by Michael Steele
  Dan Rather Memorial Award for the Stupidest Analysis
See nominees and winner | Accepted by G. Gordon Liddy
  The I’m Not a Political Genius But I Play One on TV Award
See nominees and winner | Accepted by
Pat Sajak
  Tin Foil Hat Award for Crazy Conspiracy Theories
See nominees and winner | Accepted by "Osama bin Ladin"
  Puppy Love Award
See nominees and winner | Accepted by Ward Connerly



Home | News Division | Bozell Columns | CyberAlerts 
Media Reality Check | Notable Quotables | Contact the MRC | Subscribe

Founded in 1987, the MRC is a 501(c) (3) non-profit research and education foundation
 that does not support or oppose any political party or candidate for office.

Privacy Statement

Media Research Center
325 S. Patrick Street
Alexandria, VA 22314